an active break

So, about a week and a half now with no running. My foot felt about 95% better Wednesday morning, then I tweaked it while pulling my daughter around on her sleigh…yesterday I topped it off with a ridiculously HUGE food shopping trip with lotsa’ bags to carry in and now I’m back down to about 70%. Better luck next week, eh?

In the meantime, I’ve been doing spinning, rowing, weights, abwork and I even bumped up the treadmill to a 9% incline and walked ‘uphill’ for 15 minutes! I’m only half-joking when I say another month or so of NOT running and I’ll end up in the best shape of my life!

I have to say, the first week being unable to run was brutal. I was cranky and disappointed and jealous of everyone who WAS running. While I was on the treadmill walking I kept having to remind myself: “don’t run, don’t run, don’t run…”. It was instinctive that I kept reaching to increase the speed.

Then week two hit…I lost about two pounds since I stopped running. For whatever reason, running always bloats me up. Now I’m not constantly hungry or always worried about dehydration anymore. I can actually feel my core and arms getting stronger already and while I still miss running…it’s suddenly…not so bad. I’m starting to think about how much I used to love lifting weights, spinning, pilates and how I don’t really do a whole lot of that anymore because when I have time to workout I have to run.

DSC_6871snr

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still disappointed and occasionally I still freak-out that I’m losing valuable marathon training time…but I’m also starting to enjoy this break. Whatever will be will be, I’m just happy that I can still stay active because if I had to stop EVERYTHING I would truly go NUTS.

Speaking of exercising…

I’m not much of a television person. We watch movies on the weekend, but during the week I mainly just do a lot of reading at night.

A few seasons back I had given True Blood on HBO a try, but it got old pretty quickly for me. While I was healing after the little one was born I got hooked on the Food Network for a while…which was weird and fortunately short-lived.

But every now and then when I talk to people or see status updates on Twitter or Facebook I feel completely left out. More times than not I have no idea what they’re talking about when it comes to popular tv shows. So, I decided to pick a show this season and see what it’s all about. I’m pretty much done with the whole supernatural-thing. I’ve beaten it to death over the years…in all forms of media!! I’m not an American Idol kinda girl…which left…The Biggest Loser.

challenge-logo

Apparently, this show has been on for something like 14 seasons and I’ve not seen even one episode. Of course, I can recognize Jillian Michaels, but I’ve never heard the woman speak. Again, I’ve heard of Bob Harper, but I had no idea he was on the show until I checked out the website the other night. I am literally going into this having no idea what to expect, other than there will be people working out and losing weight. How could I not enjoy that?! Right???

What'cha Thinking?

