challenge complete

A couple of months ago I posted about my love for the ladies at Another Mother Runner. Now that I’ve blown through all of their podcasts, I find myself eagerly awaiting a post telling me that a new one has been added.  I wish there were more available {hint, hint}, they make my long runs go by much more quickly!!

I meant to post this a few weeks ago, but with the additional miles I’ve been running and the pre-party planning that’s been going on, this was one of those posts that got pushed aside for a bit.

During the month of June I participated in the AMR Challenge. Basically, you needed to keep yourself moving…any form of exercise would do, but built into the rules was one mandatory Rest Day a week. Initially, this was my hardest adjustment. Typically, I have motivation to spare. I can easily stick to whatever workout schedule I choose to follow.  But a rest day??!  I’m not a fan of them. At all.

The first two were tough. Exercise was all I could think about on days that I wasn’t supposed to! By mid-morning symptoms of withdrawal would appear. It’s ridiculous just how much of a struggle it was to muffle the voice in my head that kept whispering ‘lazy’ all day long!!

In the end, I prevailed! Rest Days remained Rest Days throughout the month and I completed the challenge…rules still intact:

I’ll admit, I was a little sad after it ended.  I enjoyed the idea of sticking with a challenge. I religiously kept track of each workout and would occasionally jump onto the AMR forum to see how the other participants were doing.  Now that things are settling down for a bit I need to look around for another challenge. I’m sure there are a ton of them out there.

In the meantime, I’ve continued to hold onto my rest day.  I’ve always known the importance of giving your body a chance to relax and repair itself. I have no good reason as to why all of these years I would remind other people about the importance of rest, but I would never heed my own advice. So, aside from having fun with this challenge, I’m also happy to say that I’ve developed a much more healthy approach when it comes to resting my body!!

4 thoughts on “challenge complete

  1. Great job completing the challenge! I considered signing up for it too and then forgot too… but I love AMR as well.
    So glad you picked up a rest day. It really does make a difference, both in giving you a mental and physical break, but also allowing your body enough recovery time so you can improve/get fitter. Enjoy it, guilt-free. 🙂

    • thanks! rest days are absolutely the smart thing to do, i’ve definitely learned to enjoy them!!

  2. Your rest days sound just as active as mine. 😉

    I’m totally DL’ing AMRs podcats. I was bored tonight on my 6 mile run and was wishing I had all the Harry Potter books on my Nano still. Did I ever mention that, that’s what got me running 10+ miles? I got all into listening to the books.

    If you find another challenge I’ll do it with ya! We can virtually motivate one another. woo!

    • we totally do! i’ll have to look around for one tonight, will let you know what i find 🙂

      ya know, i should give audio books a try again. i tried them once and wasn’t a fan, but i think it would be different listening to them while running. music is getting seriously OLD, very fast. so i either need to go the audiobook route or find more podcasts that are as entertaining as AMR!

What'cha Thinking?

