photo walk

A few weeks ago, while I was perusing Pinterest, I came across a link for a Summer Activity Jar.  The idea is to fill the jar with fun things to do.  Each morning your child picks one piece of paper and whatever is written on it will be the activity of the day.  Holy Spontaneity! I loved this idea, so of course I stole it.

I decided to use popsicle/craft sticks instead. Most likely because for some strange reason we have a surplus of them in the house?! Oh, and I jazzed up the jar with some pinkness because my five year old’s happiness depends on being surrounded by PINK at all times.

Today she picked ‘Photo Walk’ and I was just as excited about the winning activity as she was.  Since before the baby arrived, I’ve been using my real camera far less than I used to.  In my defense, the arrival of my iphone earlier this year had a huge impact on it as well.  The quality cell camera on it and my love for Instagram definitely hasn’t sent me rushing back to lugging around my heavy dSLR. However, I have been missing the time I used to spend taking pics of randomness, playing around with various lenses and post-processing the best of the bunch in photoshop.

We headed out and surprisingly our photo walk lasted over two hours.  It was fantastic!  The weather was gorgeous and we took our time strolling around the neighborhood.  We always seem to be in a rush, so it was such a relaxing way to spend the afternoon.  We both took a million pictures (she was using an old point and shoot camera) and we definitely enjoyed exploring the woods together.

Update: I put some of my daughter’s photos from our walk into the below storyboard.  We have some of them printed out and they’re hanging in her room.  There were a ton to choose from, it was hard to narrow it down to just a few!!

86 thoughts on “photo walk

  1. That’s a great idea to pick fun activities, and it sounds like you had a lovely walk together! The pictures are definitely great 🙂 Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  2. Amazing photos! Thanks for the idea of the Summer Activity Jar. It is a creative and wonderful idea to spend Summer. 🙂 Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  3. OK, this has to be the best idea ever. Why can’t I find awesomeness like this on Pinterest?

    Oh well…I guess that’s why I *heart* WordPress so much!

    Thank you — my kids and I will be photowalking soon, too. They’re 10 and 12 — perfect ages to start developing their own unique “eye” for pix. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • i guess i just got lucky on pinterest that day! i’m sure they’ll love it…ENJOY!

    • she’s so excited in the morning to pick from that jar, she’s definitely loving it!

  4. Love this idea and how you incorporated it into a post. I may just have to venture on over to Pinterest. I’ve been avoiding it like the plague because I know it is one more thing I will get hooked on! 🙂

  5. This is one of my favorite things to do with my kids. It’s a great way to spend the afternoon and you never know what they’ll find. Lovely photos! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    • thank you! it really is a great activity, gets us outside, moving around and it definitely makes us both much more observant to the things around us that we often times rush right past…

  6. Great idea, and photowalks are such fun! I have not spent too much time with my sister, since we live in separate continents, but during my vacation we went walking in the woods, and besides sharing the photos we had great like talking, just two of us.

    • that sounds wonderful! there’s something about nature walks in general they’re so very relaxing…

  7. These are great photos, especially the cherry! I love an activity that you can do with your kids. Cameras are such fun.
    Congrats on the Freshly Pressed too!
    irunibreathe.wordpress.com

    • thank you! i love that she’s shown a lot of interest in photography over the last couple of years. it’s a fun hobby to have…

  8. Talent runs in the family. Thanks for sharing a family activity for all to enjoy. It is a pleasure to see your photos and to see how talented your child is with the point and shoot. Great bones in the pics. Congrats on FP!

  9. What fun and a great idea. When we went on a trip to BC with our boys 9 and 10 at the time they each had a camera. Their perspectives were so different and fascinating.

    • it’s so true, there were a few pics that i ended up taking because she pointed them out to me!

  10. That’s a fantastic idea! I’m totally stealing it 😉 I love the pics too. Was that a plum? We have so many around here and they look so pretty in their purple tree. Love them 🙂

    • ha, steal it! enjoy it! but remember who started it >; ) yup…a plum from the flowering plum tree in front of our house. ‘ya know “The Tree”…

  11. What a great idea! I wonder if I can come up with stuff that would interest my teen? Actually, I am going to steal the ‘photo walk’ idea this very moment! My 14 yr old daughter just came outside and said to me “I’m sooooo bored” (yeah, an every-day-with-
    a-teen-who-doesn’t-drive-yet moment) and I asked her if she’d like to do just that… and here she is with the camera! So even tho my laptop is telling me it’s still 102 degrees out (at 9pm) we are going for a photo walk! Thanks for the idea!

    • thanks! absolutely, there have been plenty of times when i leave the girls at home for some quality time with my husband and i go wander with my camera all on my own…a great way to spend a few hours.

  12. The jar o’ activities has been around for a while, not surprised it was on Pintrest! Love the name of your blog, very fitting and I can relate: 6 yr old boy and 2 yr old girl. It was crazy trying to find activities that my (then) 4 yr old would enjoy while me and baby sister watched. Parents.com is a reat place to look for ideas.

  13. Beautiful pictures…This activity is good too ! I tried something similar but I got a small box and put little pieces of paper with kind of some affirmations and read when I have a down day or mood is like… 😦 such as ‘My dreams are coming true’ or ‘ I am thankful’ …’I appreciate all I have’..’I make friends easily..’ etc and then repeat it few times you feel better ..:D…you can try this everyday and just sit and think about it !

    • that’s a great idea! for a while we did a ‘word of the day’, we would pick a piece of paper from a box that had one word written on it such as: embrace, love, spontaneous…and then we would LIVE whatever that word was for the day 🙂

  14. What a great idea! And you have got a fantastic results too. Brilliant pictures and memories of a fabulous time with your little one as well. I’m so nicking this idea!

  15. Fab photos and what a lovely idea (which I shall now steal, natch 😉 ) I often do a kind of photo walk by default with my toddler; the pace he pootles around at and his propensity to distraction makes our walks perfect for some photographising and he adores the chance to get his mitts on any kind of camera.

    • thank you!! i’m sure he’ll love it, i think my daughter was about three years old the first time we did it and she loved it back then too 🙂

  16. Pingback: Get Outdoors! Summer Activity Jars « F that S

  17. Pingback: Summer Activity Jar & Photo Walk | Family Association

  18. Great idea. Awesome photos. I think I will try it this week with my kiddos. I am always impressed with the pictures they take. Such a different perspective than my own.

    Congrats on FP!

    • taking a look at her pics afterwards is definitely like getting a glimpse of the world through her eyes! if you do, have a great time!

  19. You took beautiful shots! I love the idea that you took photos and put them in her room too! Kids need a reminder of the beauty of nature! Good for you for such a fun adventure!

    • thank you! they absolutely do, i love where we live…she’s already a little nature-girl and it’s made her extremely observant of the world around her 🙂

What'cha Thinking?

