experimenting

In my never-ending search for all things gluten, dairy and soy free…I’ve done a bit of experimenting this week.

My first was yesterday during my run.  I ended up doing 4.56 miles…in the heat and humidity.  I knew ahead of time that I would SO need something more than just water to hydrate.  I’ve been trying to avoid Gatorade and unfortunately the mild-carbonation left behind from nuun tablets makes it completely incompatible with my quickshot.  So, I decided to fill’er up with coconut water instead.

One glance at the ingredient label shows you just how chock-full of electrolyte goodness it is.  I figured it would be perfect for my run.  Drinking it straight was a bit…overwhelming. The only times I’ve ever used it was in a (very tasty!) smoothie.  I’m not the biggest fan of the taste, but it wasn’t awful.  I know that in yesterday’s heat I was way better off bringing that along than I was plain water.

Next up…Aloe Vera Juice. To be honest, I had no idea that there was such a thing. In my mind, aloe vera was something in lotion and soaps. Not something in your glass at the table.  My husband mentioned it yesterday and as luck would have it, I spotted it at the food store a few hours later.

Aloe Vera Juice is not cheap.  It was almost eight bucks for the container. And you know what? Aloe Vera Juice is not delicious. It’s actually kinda sorta gross. Immediately after consuming it (and silently cursing my husband) I googled it. Because, seriously, there has to be some major health benefits associated with it.  Otherwise who would be willing drink this stuff???  As it turned out, there are definitely several benefits to drinking aloe vera…including digestive health, immune system boost and reducing inflammation.  I particularly liked the idea in this article of mixing it with regular juice or in a smoothie.

Lastly, there was this little ‘treat’, given to me a couple of weeks ago.  I think people enjoy the challenge of trying to feed me?!  I have friends and family that get so excited when they find something that I can ‘actually eat’.  So, I truly do appreciate the effort.  BUT, not every find is a hit.  Case in point, Wasabi Seaweed Snacks.  Really.  Can you imagine? The name alone sounds hideous.

It’s awful. Beyond awful. Horrific. Repugnant. I could go on and on. It tastes like sushi (without the yummy extras) that’s been lying around in the sun for entirely too long.  The only thing worse would be washing this stuff down with a huge swig of aloe vera juice o_O

2 thoughts on “experimenting

  1. Every morning I make a tablespoon of aloe vera juice, a tablespoon of fresh squeezed lemon and a tablespoon of grapeseed oil to start my day off right!

    • since this post i started drinking a small glass of it mixed with orange juice and it’s not bad at all. for a while i was starting the day with lemon water with a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, it was a nice boost first thing in the morning…

What'cha Thinking?

