running with reptiles

Yesterday I was out the door around 7AM for a 7 mile easy run.  I was joining three of my team members from an upcoming 92-mile relay race in August. I’ve never run with anyone before, with the exception of total strangers during a race. For some reason, beforehand, the idea of it felt a little strange. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but as it turned out it was a great run.

We kept it at an easy pace to accommodate everyone.  Typically, my pace tends to be a touch all over the place.  So, I had a little trouble maintaining just one steady pace the whole time.  Occasionally, I would ‘gun it’ up a hill or if we hit a nice flat area. I never got too far ahead and I always dropped back a bit afterwards to continue chatting with the group. Judging by how good I felt afterwards I definitely could have pushed a bit harder, but I’m glad I went and I would definitely do it again.

I decided to put that extra energy to good use and went out this morning for a quick 3.2 miles to add to my weekend total.  It was the first time I ran outdoors with a bit of heat and humidity in my Running Skirt.  It was very comfy, but as I was approaching the mile 2 mark I was thankful to have remembered the Body Glide! They should ship those skirts with a complimentary stick 😉

As for the rest of the weekend, we had company all afternoon yesterday.  Both of the human and reptilian variety…

And I’ve been desperately trying to not eat the entire bag of KIND granola that I bought on Thursday.  I almost walked past it in the store without checking it out. KIND bars have soy in them (which is a no-go for me), but if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last few years it’s that you should never make any assumptions when it comes to ingredient labels.  Thankfully I took a look at it, because it was in the clear and I’ve been LOVING it this weekend!!

2 thoughts on “running with reptiles

  1. I love Kind bars but haven’t had that granola yet- looks delicious! Nice work on all your running!

    • thanks!! after finding out that gluten was the cause of all my GI issues, I thought I’d never have granola again. so happy that companies are starting to really pump out gfree options. they have several different flavors, looking forward to devouring them all 🙂

What'cha Thinking?

