new gear

I mentioned last week that I had a Road Runner Sports gift card just waiting to be spent.  I wasted no time and blew the whole thing in one online shopping frenzy.  My package arrived in record time!!  So, when I headed out this morning for a run (just over 4 miles…unfortunately, plenty of hills) I was loaded up with my new gear.

I’ll start with my iPhone earbuds.  I have no idea what changed, but just within the last month they have been driving me INSANE.  They continuously pop out of my ears.  I was spending most of my runs jamming them back in and fiddling with wrapping the wires through the straps of my sports bra in an attempt to keep them in place.  At one point, less than a mile from home I was ready to rip them off and chuck them into the woods.  So, when I saw BudFits for only $9 bucks I figured I’d give them a try.  They attach to your current earbuds and supposedly offer a more secure fit.

And I’m pleased to say that is exactly what they do!  Best $9 investment ever.  They didn’t budge at all!

The next item on my list…a Nathan 10 oz QuickShot.  I don’t run with water.  Ever.  But with summer temps around the corner and the fact that I am very close to breaking the 9 mile mark, I figure it’s about time I start.  I saw this and thought it would be perfect.  Compact and with the handgrip easy to carry.  So, I was surprised during the first mile when I was completely ready to trash it.  As I was running liquid was shooting out of the spout…repeatedly.  The bottle, my hand and tank top were drenched.  It was ridiculous.  I was about to give up on it entirely, but by the time I got about halfway through the bottle…it stopped.  Before heading out, I was careful to not overfill it, but I’m guessing I should leave even more space next time.  Which means my 10 oz QuickShot is more like a 5 or 6 oz’er.

Inside of that QuickShot wasn’t just water, I also tossed in a nuun tablet.  It’s impossible to follow running blogs and NOT see something about nuun.  When I saw on their website that it’s gluten free, I decided to go for it.  I ordered their variety pack, this morning I opted for the Strawberry Lemonade flavor…

It tasted okay, but I was taken a bit off guard by the slightly carbonated nature of it (think: plop, plop, fizz, fizz).  It’s a little strange to feel like you’re drinking seltzer while running.  Once I got used to that it was good.  Tasted fine and as I found out (due to the leaking QuickShot) it’s not in the least bit sticky!

The rest of the gift card I spent on a pair of shorts, mainly because I’m having such a hard time finding summer running clothes that I like.  There’s the ‘ole saying ‘if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all’.  I’m okay with not every purchase being a win…and I guess I’ll leave it at that!

2 thoughts on “new gear

  1. I’ve been looking for an alternative to my Fuel Belt – you know for those short runs where you don’t need to take 4 water bottles with you. I’ll have to check out the Nathan Quick Shot. Love the purple color too! Good luck with your running!

    • i probably shouldn’t admit it, but i had it down to two choices and i went with the quickshot because purple is my favorite! i’m hoping with a little less water in it that next time the leaking won’t be an issue…thanks, you too!!

What'cha Thinking?

