Non Runner’s Marathon Guide

Recently, I seemed to have taken a bit of a hiatus from reading.  I was finishing up one book after the other for months and then all of the sudden…nothing.  I’m slowly working my way back to it.  My first one since the break ended up being…The Non Runner’s Marathon Guide For Women.

This is actually a re-read for me.  Which is unusual because I very, very rarely re-read books.  (Life’s too short and my TBR List is entirely too long.)  I picked this one up several years ago, just before my GI Issues forced me to take an indefinite break from running.  I remembered enjoying it, but that entire time period of my life is kind of a blur, so I decided to give it another go.

I think you have to go into this book with the right expectations.  I saw a lot of negative comments online about how useless it is for training.  Which is totally correct.  But it wasn’t really meant to be a serious training guide.  This is a sarcastic, tongue-in-cheek, self-deprecating tale of a non-runner suddenly inspired to run a marathon despite her dislike of the sport.

She whines.  She complains.  She suffers injuries and bouts of laziness.  This is not a hard-core athlete obsessing over a 6:00 pace.  This is a couch to 26.2 story of a reluctant runner.  At times it bounces back and forth between funny, corny, inspiring, annoying…you get a little bit of everything.  It’s a fun, entertaining read.  And I think the message the author was trying to send was that completing a marathon isn’t just for the supremely fit.  That if you can find the drive, dedication and strength within yourself to stick to a training program then you can totally do this.

Personally, I have no desire to complete a full marathon.  It requires entirely too much time that I know I am unwilling to invest.  BUT…as I look forward to getting out this morning and cracking the 8-mile mark, I gotta say…a half is looking really good to me right about now.

“A famous guy named Jeff Galloway revolutionized the marathon world by suggesting that maybe it’s okay to walk a little instead of running nonstop for the entire 26.2 miles.  I worry about the collective intelligence of the marathon world if this guy was really the first person to think this up; but he’s the one credited with introducing common sense to the running world.” ~ Dawn Dais

What'cha Thinking?

