the post that made me hungry

I’ve mentioned somewhere around here that I have issues with gluten, dairy and soy.  Gluten is the biggie.  I can’t consume even a speck of it.  When I first realized gluten was the enemy I eliminated it from my diet completely.  It took a few weeks, but I finally noticed that every time I used my lipgloss I felt the ‘gluten pain’ shortly after.  It was very slight, but it was there.  When I checked the label…gluten, under one of its many pseudonyms.  I’m that sensitive to it.

Dairy does not very nice things.  It’s not nearly as painful as consuming gluten, but it’s better if I don’t eat it.  As for soy, it’s the lesser of the three.  I can’t eat large quantities of it (goodbye soy lattes…sniff-sniiiiiiffff), but I can get away with sneaking small amounts in here and there.

At first it was completely overwhelming.  I felt like I couldn’t eat anything.  At all.  Then I calmed down and started doing some research.  I also started reading ingredient labels for everything.  Even non-food items like chapstick and lotion.  These days it’s not such a big deal anymore.  I buy pretty much all of my food from ShopRite.  Very little of it is considered ‘specialty’ items.  Salad, chicken, tuna, veggies, Chex…typical stuff.

But every once in a while I get a craving for something yummy.  Snacks and energy bars are kinda hard to come by for me.  I used to love Larabars. I think I loved them not necessarily for the taste, but because when I started out they were the only bars I could find that fit my criteria.  I loved them because I was grateful.  Since then I’ve found a few different varieties that I enjoy much more.

Pure Bars are total yumminess.

I recently found Rise Bars.  So far I’ve only tried their Pumpkin bar and it was very good.

Bora Bora Bars could quite possibly be my favorite.  The Pomegranate Pecan is awesome, so awesome that I never have any extra to take pictures of…

Once every few months I stop by a local specialty shop that carries gfree grocery items.  There I can find rice crispy-type treats, cookies

Peanut Butter Cups (they have a touch of soy in them, so I only eat half)…

And really interesting things like Keenwah Cranberry Cashew clusters, which are actually pretty good…

The place I go to also has ice cream, pies, cakes, doughnuts, etc.  Which is why I hardly ever go. I’m better off without that kind of stuff. It’s proof that just because you may be eating gluten-free you aren’t necessarily eating right!

What'cha Thinking?

