my fair lazy

I finally got around to reading Jen Lancaster’s My Fair Lazy. I’ve had this book forever, but never picked it up…mainly because of the tagline: “One Reality Television Addict’s Attempt to Discover If Not Being a Dumb Ass Is the New Black, or, A Culture-Up Manifesto“…

I don’t watch reality television. So, I was worried I would end up reading this book and wouldn’t have a clue what she was talking about. I knew that any references to current reality shows would go right over my head.

This was exactly the case at some moments, but fortunately I didn’t have much to worry about. There were definitely references to shows that I’ve never seen, but not so much that I felt clueless or disinterested. My Fair Lazy was more so about Jen trying to break free from the grip that reality tv apparently had on her and use that new found energy to explore other (more worthwhile) forms of entertainment.

I don’t typically enjoy reading ‘humor’. I prefer classic literature, supernatural themes and young adult fiction. The closest I could ever get to this genre was Christopher Moore…but that’s an entirely different post.

Anyway, a friend of mine introduced Jen Lancaster’s books to me a few years ago. After enjoying her first book, I slowly made my way through her others…enjoying each one as I went.

By the time I got to Pretty in Plaid, I was officially a fan.  She’s a fun author to read.  Her books are quick, easy and definitely have moments when you will find yourself laughing out loud.

I also have a bit of a soft spot for Jen because her book signing a few years back was the first author event that I ever attended.  (I’ve since met Guillermo del Toro)  She was at the Barnes & Noble in Union Square, NYC…

Her reading was hysterical, she was so friendly to everyone as they stepped up to meet her and she stayed well past the official end-time in order to be sure that everyone left with a signed book.  So, that alone will ensure I’ll give all of her future books a shot…and so far I haven’t been disappointed.

What'cha Thinking?

