back on track

Nine weeks ago our baby girl arrived.  The past couple of months have been exhausting, stressful and wonderful all at the same time.  So much to be thankful for and such happiness seeing how much my oldest loves her baby sister and seeing our little one give her constant smiles in return.  My recovery was surprisingly a long(ish) one.  I had assumed that this being my second it would be both quick and smooth.  Unfortunately, due to medical reasons, there were days when it felt worse this time around. Week Seven ended up being the magic week for me, it was the first time I noticed myself starting to feel ok again.

Not wanting to complicate things further and potentially create a set-back in my recovery…I waited until my follow-up appointment before starting to workout again.  I was extremely active during my pregnancy.  In fact, 24 hours before giving birth I did 35 minutes of spinning and 15 minutes on my bowflex.  Over the last ten years I’ve learned to love working out.  So, when I don’t do it I seriously start to miss it.  It’s been a looong nine weeks, but I finally got the okay to exercise from my doc this past Friday.

Over the last three days I’ve hit both my spin bike and bowflex…

…as well as some free weights…

I feel really good getting back into a routine.  I have ten pounds to lose in order to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight and I’m looking foward to making that happen before the summer rolls around.

What I would really love to do is Bikram Yoga.  It’s the only type of yoga that I find challenging.  I used to do it regularly years ago, but at this point the closest studio is over an hour away.  Not in the least bit convenient.  Still, I miss it and maybe one weekend I’ll leave the girls home for some Daddy-Time and make the trek over to the studio…

What'cha Thinking?

