one day

“Dex and Em, Em and Dex”

So, I have this thing.  That I can’t watch a movie if it was originally a book that I haven’t read first.  It’s kind of annoying, because I think it’s pretty much a universal truth that the book is always better than the movie.  Which means that by insisting upon reading the book first, I pretty much ensure that I won’t enjoy the movie.

For example…I just finished up One Day by David Nicholls.

It wasn’t the greatest book I’ve ever read, but I did enjoy it.  I liked the idea of a story progressing based on the events of one day each year.  It was an interesting way to cover such a large period of time in the character’s lives, but without ending up with 2,000 pages.  It was easy to become involved with Dexter and Emma.  They definitely came to life for me.  It’s hard to really give my full opinion of it without giving anything away…what I will say is that I quickly stopped hoping they would end up together and simultaneously found myself totally skeeved by Dexter.  After the early 90’s portion I was desperately hoping that Emma wouldn’t let that skanky bastard anywhere near her.

About mid-way through, things got a little old for me.  There was one rather uncomfortable scene between Dexter and Emma that took me three days to get though.  Granted that probably had more to do with my diminished attention span these days, but still…after a while Dexter’s downward spiral dragged a bit.  Fortunately, it didn’t take long to get past it and by the end things were moving along quickly.

No sooner did I close the back cover, when I clicked on the tv and watched the movie.

They did a pretty good job with it, but I think a lot got lost along the way.  They chose to leave out some pretty significant events. Dexter seemed a little more pathetic and less charismatic.  Emma, less independent and more clingy.  I appreciated how they were trying to visualize the passage of time with period clothes and the sudden burst of trendy music, but it was just plain ole’ distracting to me.

But…seeing Dexter towards the end, a complete and total mess with grief.  Well, for me it was definitely more powerful on screen than it was in the book.

Overall, I enjoyed both the book and movie, but…do I really need to say it???  {coughcoughbookwasbettercough}

“He put one hand lightly on the back of her neck, and simultaneously she placed one hand lightly on his hip, and they kissed in the street as all around them people hurried home in the summer light, and it was the sweetest kiss that either of them would ever know. This is where it all begins. Everything starts here, today. And then it was over.”

2 thoughts on “one day

    • hhmmm, i’m thinking that’d be unlikely. i probably would have hated the movie if i hadn’t read the book. now eat, pray, love…that’s a book that i really hated…never could bring myself to watch the movie.

What'cha Thinking?

