darkly dreaming dexter

I finally decided it was time to read Darkly Dreaming Dexter. I know there’s a television show based on the books, but I’ve never seen it. I went into this with no expectations.  All I knew about the plot was what they offered up in the summary on the back of the book.

I have to say, I tried very hard to not like Dexter.  Unfortunately, he kinda won me over…regardless of his homicidal tendencies.  In fact, there were times when I actually found myself feeling guilty over rooting for him.  If you can overlook his one massive flaw, he’s a likeable guy.  Clever, witty, a touch of sarcasm, a sense of humor about himself…well, he’s easy to like when he’s not murdering people.

Of course, to his credit he only murders ‘bad guys’, so in a way he’s doing the world a service.  I guess.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this first installment of the Dexter Books.  I’m glad that I finally got around to it and I’m definitely planning on continuing with the series.  It was interesting, fast-paced and a very easy read.  By the time I reached the last chapter I didn’t want to put it down…so we can tack on engrossing to that list as well.

Kinda makes me want to check out the show…

“Whatever made me the way I am left me hollow, empty inside, unable to feel. It doesn’t seem like a big deal. I’m quite sure most people fake an awful lot of everyday human contact. I just fake all of it. I fake it very well, and the feelings are never there.” ~ Darkly Dreaming Dexter

What'cha Thinking?

