black heels to tractor wheels

I first heard of Ree Drummond shortly after I started experimenting with photography.  A few years ago, I somehow stumbled upon her free photoshop actions, editing tutorials and the gorgeous images taken on her ranch.  I started subscribing to her blog, but I was a late arrival.  I missed her early blogging years, so I was completely unaware of her background/history.

Lately, I’ve been seeing her everywhere and curiosity got the better of me.  I decided to finally read Black Heels to Tractor Wheels.

I’ve seen a lot of criticism in the reviews for this book.  It’s basically the story of how Ree met and fell in love with her husband.  With a relatively short summary of their first year of marriage. 

Is this great literature?  No, of course not.  Why would anyone even expect it to be??  What this is…is a sweet story of a woman falling completely in love with her husband and ultimately finding herself in a fish-out-of-water situation. Knowing that this was the right man for her she made it work. Short, sweet and easy to read.

Overall I enjoyed it, especially being a long time follower of her blog.  But…I did have some issues with it.  For example, Marlboro Man’s perfection was just a bit much…kind, respectful, considerate, romantic, a total gentleman and perfection in every possible way…does such a man even exist!?!?  And really…he’s ‘muscular’…I get it.  You don’t need to beat me over the head with his bicep and remind me of his physique at every fifth sentence!  As for Ree herself, at times I found it difficult to like her.  Her constant label dropping (Anne Klein jeans, Vera Wang dress, etc.) and her obsession with primping is so not something that I’m into.  However, I completely understand that she was trying to make a point.  That this high-maintenance ‘city girl’ ended up making a big transformation.

In honor of finishing her book, I watched one of her episodes on the Food Network…which was actually pretty cute and I picked-up a copy of her cookbook…The Pioneer Woman Cooks as a gift for my mother.  Of course, I had to check it out for myself before wrapping it up.

So, regardless of how you feel about the writing style of Black Heels…in my opinion, I think it’s hard to not at least appreciate all this woman has accomplished.

“I’ll remember this kiss till my very last breath, I thought to myself.”

“Marry you?  But then I’d have to make casseroles.”

“I marveled that the scent of a specific dish could remain in one’s consciousness for over two decades.”

What'cha Thinking?

