at grave’s end

So, I’ve mentioned previously that I’m sticking with light reading for now.  I enjoy a wide range of genres, but I’ve always had a soft spot for supernatural fiction.  They usually offer up a fun way to spend some free time and are almost always a very quick read.

I recently discovered Jeaniene Frost and her Night Huntress Series

I just finished-up her third installment, At Grave’s End.  It’s exactly what you would expect from a book about vampires, ghouls and (this time around) a sprinkling of zombies.  Complete with a fast moving plot, a likeable supporting cast and the main character (Cat) is a strong-willed, independent, kick-butt female…that’s always a big plus for me.

From what I remember, At Grave’s End, was a little less steamy than the previous book (One Foot in the Grave).  I’m probably in the minority on this one, but I actually kind of appreciated that.  I’ve read too many series that start out strong, but eventually trade-off plot for a toned down version of erotica (think ~ Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris) and in my opinion it’s rather disappointing.

At this point, Frost is still managing the plot/romance balance well enough and I’m looking forward to the next book in this series…

I’ve faced some scary sights hunting vampires and ghouls, but hordes of children hyped-up on sugar, squealing as they ran from one video game to the next, while I knew there was no escape for me?  Truly frightening. ~ At Grave’s End

Still, life was wasted on those who didn’t live in the time they had, be they human, vampire, or ghoul.  Or a freaky mixture of the two, like me. ~ At Grave’s End

What'cha Thinking?

